Uncage RRJThe record, kept in public
The FOIA docket

21 public-records threads. Three patterns that explain most of the answers.

21 public-records threads, January 28, 2025 to August 10, 2026, reconstructed from 173 emails in our own archive. What was asked, what came back, who signed it, and what was cited when records were withheld.

Counts by status: 4 produced, 8 partially produced, 2 withheld, 1 fee-blocked, 2 referred elsewhere, 1 unresolved, 1 with no response in this corpus. Deadlines are five working days from the date sent under Va. Code § 2.2-3704(B), excluding weekends and state holidays — arithmetic, not a legal finding. Docket current as of August 22, 2026.

Officials are named because they signed these letters for a public body. Nobody else is: every other requester, family member and incarcerated person appears as a role only — no name, no case number, no date of birth, no medical detail.

↓ Download the full docket — Markdown, 21 requests with sources

The sentence that explains the file

“Please note, it is the Jail’s general practice to exempt any and all records that are allowed to be exempted, redacted, or excluded from production by law.”

Santina Thelen, Executive Administrative Assistant / FOIA Officer, Rappahannock Regional Jail, in writing, December 19, 2025

The Jail’s own description of its standing posture, written down and sent to a requester. The incarceration-record exemptions in § 2.2-3706 are discretionary — a body may withhold, not must. A general practice of exempting everything the law permits turns a discretion into a default the public never voted for. The rest of this page is that sentence applied, request by request.

Quoted verbatim, spelling and spacing preserved, from the December 19, 2025 response in the request docketed below as conditions of one short incarceration.

Findings
Fredericksburg City Courthouse. Silent, four seconds. Filmed by Uncage RRJ, 2026. The Virginia Freedom of Information Act is enforced, when it is enforced, in rooms like this one.

Three patterns run through the RRJ FOIA requests

Patterns in the responses, not the requesters. Each is drawn from the dated correspondence below and names the requests it comes from.

Pattern one

Discretionary exemptions, used as a default

The discretionary exemptions in § 2.2-3706, invoked repeatedly. A March 2025 probation-file request: denied outright under (B)(6). The June 2026 five-part submission: (B)(4) withheld about 30 pages on the warrant item, two on use of force, ten on housing classification, about 30 on court notices, and later a sentencing order in the same file.

Entries: probation file · warrant timeline · use of force · housing classification · court notice · sentencing order.

Pattern two

A fee ladder on the largest request

One December 2025 request — video, incident, grievance and use-of-force records for a short incarceration — was conditioned on money at every step. First a $250 deposit before processing would begin. Then more than $300 anticipated for the remainder. Then a rate of $20 per hour, with a bill to be generated and paid before release. A sample of four incident reports and two redacted grievance reports arrived. This corpus does not show the remaining records ever being delivered.

Entry: conditions of one short incarceration, December 2025 – January 2026, six dated responses.

Pattern three

No records, plus a referral

Individual-record requests often drew the same combination: no responsive record, a partial production of policy documents, and a pointer to another custodian. May 2023 custody matter: no incident record, no audio kept, see Stafford County. June 2026 PREA item: grievance form withheld, a redacted routing record released, see the Sheriff’s Office.

Entries: May 2023 custody records · custodial audio · PREA records.

One thing cuts the other way: the Jail’s FOIA officer answered fast. Seventeen of eighteen RRJ FOIA requests drew a first response, at a median of three days — inside the statutory five. The problem is not slowness. It is what the fast answers say.

The docket

21 public-records threads, January 28, 2025 to August 10, 2026

Every docketed public-records thread visible in the 173-email corpus, in the order it was sent. A statutory deadline is shown only for an RRJ FOIA request; other correspondence is marked by type.
RequestRequested bySent Statutory deadlineStatus
Electronic-monitoring-program records and statistical information (exact request text wa…Uncage RRJJanuary 28, 2025February 4, 2025Produced
Probation-officer communications, notes, reports, supervisory-review records, and suppor…Uncage RRJMarch 24, 2025March 31, 2025Withheld
Follow-up concerning electronic monitoring versus GPS/pretrial supervision, including re…Uncage RRJJune 29, 2025July 7, 2025Partially produced
Audio/video, phone, surveillance, and evidence recordings of a community requester while…A community requesterNovember 17, 2025November 24, 2025Referred elsewhere
Records distinct from the earlier audio request concerning a May 4, 2023 custodial incid…A community requester represented by Uncage RRJNovember 25, 2025December 4, 2025Referred elsewhere
Video, incident, grievance, use-of-force, and related records concerning a former detain…A former RRJ detainee represented by Uncage RRJDecember 7, 2025December 12, 2025Fee-blocked
Facsimile transmission logs, delivery confirmations, error reports, and metadata for spe…A community requesterJanuary 13, 2026January 21, 2026Unresolved
A request for one person’s incarceration dates in support of a district court caseUncage RRJFebruary 11, 2026records verification request (not a FOIA request)Produced
Policies, agreements, communications, and aggregate data concerning RRJ immigration/ICE …Uncage RRJFebruary 17, 2026February 24, 2026Partially produced
Spotsylvania County notice of a FOIA cost inquiry related to RRJ mattersUncage RRJFebruary 24, 2026county FOIA correspondenceNotice received
2024 booking-log / recidivism data: booking and release times, charges, classifications,…Uncage RRJApril 6, 2026April 13, 2026Partially produced
Written advisory-opinion request to the Virginia FOIA Advisory Council regarding the 202…Uncage RRJApril 16, 2026advisory-opinion correspondence (not a FOIA request)Advisory response received
Court-notice, service, scheduling, and applicable policy records for a person held at RR…Uncage RRJJune 8, 2026June 15, 2026Partially produced
Housing-classification, segregation-placement, risk-assessment, and applicable policy re…Uncage RRJJune 8, 2026June 15, 2026Partially produced
PREA grievance, routing, findings, and applicable investigation-policy records for a per…Uncage RRJJune 8, 2026June 15, 2026Partially produced
Use-of-force, restraint/search, injury, staff-identification, internal-communication, an…Uncage RRJJune 8, 2026June 15, 2026Partially produced
Warrant, service-timeline, and RRJ-awareness records for a person held at RRJUncage RRJJune 8, 2026June 15, 2026Partially produced
Inmate notary-services procedures and recordsA community requester associated with Uncage RRJJune 11, 2026June 18, 2026Produced
Sentencing order held by RRJ for a specified circuit-court case involving a person held …A community requester associated with Uncage RRJJune 11, 2026June 18, 2026Withheld
July 23, 2026 RRJA Board-meeting change, notice, agenda-packet, and meeting-material rec…Uncage RRJJuly 14, 2026July 21, 2026Produced
Names of employee-award recipients at the July 23, 2026 RRJA Board meetingUncage RRJAugust 10, 2026August 17, 2026No response

Electronic-monitoring-program records and statistical information (exact request text was in an attachment not available in this corpus)

Produced

Requested byUncage RRJ
SentJanuary 28, 2025
Deadline / typeFebruary 4, 2025
Va. Code § 2.2-3704(B), five working days
First responseJanuary 31, 2025 — 3 days after sending
StatusProduced — records were released and the officer stated nothing further was outstanding

No exemption and no fee were stated in the visible correspondence.

The correspondence, response by response
  1. January 31, 2025 — Santina Thelen, Executive Administrative Assistant / FOIA Officer. Stated that a response and documentation were attached and that the annual report would follow separately because of file size.

    Official’s words — Santina Thelen, Executive Administrative Assistant / FOIA Officer, January 31, 2025“Please find the attached response and documentation. The Annual Report will be send in a separate email as the file is too large.”
    • Produced: Response letter and documentation described as attached
    • Withheld, or said not to exist: not stated

Docket note. The January 28 request itself was an unavailable attachment, so the docket does not reconstruct its exact wording. A later email quotes the official January 31 production notice. Attachment contents cannot be verified from this corpus. A named non-requester individual appears in the underlying correspondence and attachment filenames; that name is withheld here as a privacy judgment.

Probation-officer communications, notes, reports, supervisory-review records, and supporting-evidence records for a specified probation-violation matter

Withheld

Requested byUncage RRJ
SentMarch 24, 2025
Deadline / typeMarch 31, 2025
Va. Code § 2.2-3704(B), five working days
First responseMarch 24, 2025 — 0 days after sending
StatusWithheld — the records were refused in full

Code cited to withhold: § 2.2-3706(B)(6).

The correspondence, response by response
  1. March 24, 2025 — Santina Thelen, Executive Administrative Assistant / FOIA Officer. Denied the requested probation-related records as excluded from mandatory disclosure; stated RRJ's general policy is not to disclose records that may be exempted.

    Official’s words — Santina Thelen, Executive Administrative Assistant / FOIA Officer, March 24, 2025“The records requested are excluded from mandatory disclosure under the Virginia Freedom of Information Act:”
    • Code cited to withhold: § 2.2-3706(B)(6)
    • Withheld, or said not to exist: All requested records

Docket note. The original March 24 request and the same-day official response appear in a quoted chain. The request concerns the requester’s own probation matter; no other private person is named in this entry.

Follow-up concerning electronic monitoring versus GPS/pretrial supervision, including records supporting the placement of a non-requester individual

Partially produced

Requested byUncage RRJ
SentJune 29, 2025
Deadline / typeJuly 7, 2025
Va. Code § 2.2-3704(B), five working days
First responseJune 30, 2025 — 1 day after sending
StatusPartially produced — some records were released and others were withheld, redacted or said not to exist

Code cited to withhold: § 2.2-3706(B)(6).

The correspondence, response by response
  1. June 30, 2025 — Lisa Walker. Lisa Walker said Santina Thelen would respond after returning to the office.

    Official’s words — Lisa Walker, June 30, 2025“Ms. Thelen will respond to your email upon her return to the office on Monday, July 7, 2025.”
  2. July 7, 2025 — Santina Thelen, Executive Administrative Assistant / FOIA Officer. Provided a chronology describing GPS and pretrial supervision, but declined to release the pretrial file.

    • Code cited to withhold: § 2.2-3706(B)(6)
    • Produced: Chronology of GPS/pretrial supervision
    • Withheld, or said not to exist: Pretrial file

Docket note. The June 29 message is phrased as a follow-up question, but Thelen expressly called it a FOIA request dated June 29. A named non-requester individual is anonymized because the corpus does not establish a basis for publishing that person’s identity.

Audio/video, phone, surveillance, and evidence recordings of a community requester while in custody on May 4, 2023

Referred elsewhere

Requested byA community requester
SentNovember 17, 2025
Deadline / typeNovember 24, 2025
Va. Code § 2.2-3704(B), five working days
First responseNovember 18, 2025 — 1 day after sending
StatusReferred elsewhere — the Jail directed the requester to another custodian

Code cited to withhold: § 2.2-3700; § 2.2-3704.

The correspondence, response by response
  1. November 18, 2025 — Santina Thelen, Executive Administrative Assistant / FOIA Officer. Closed the request after stating the Virginia residency requirement had not been met.

    Official’s words — Santina Thelen, Executive Administrative Assistant / FOIA Officer, November 18, 2025“As the Virginia residency requirement has not been met, this FOIA request is now considered closed.”
    • Code cited to withhold: § 2.2-3700; § 2.2-3704
    • Withheld, or said not to exist: Request closed before production
  2. November 19, 2025 — Santina Thelen, Executive Administrative Assistant / FOIA Officer. After follow-up clarification, said jail video is stored up to 60 days, RRJ officers do not wear body cameras, inmate calls are held by an outside vendor and unavailable under FOIA, and the sought evidence would be better sought from Stafford County.

    Official’s words — Santina Thelen, Executive Administrative Assistant / FOIA Officer, November 19, 2025“The Rappahannock Regional Jail does not store nor retain audio evidence collected by the Stafford County Sheriff Department.”
    • Withheld, or said not to exist: Requested audio evidence

Docket note. The requester’s name, contact information, date of birth, and identification attachment are omitted under the privacy rules. The request names a law-enforcement officer in a personal-case context; the name is omitted because it is not necessary to describe the docket outcome.

Records distinct from the earlier audio request concerning a May 4, 2023 custodial incident, including classification, custody-movement, policy, and related records

Referred elsewhere

Requested byA community requester represented by Uncage RRJ
SentNovember 25, 2025
Deadline / typeDecember 4, 2025
Va. Code § 2.2-3704(B), five working days
First responseNovember 25, 2025 — 0 days after sending
StatusReferred elsewhere — the Jail directed the requester to another custodian

No exemption and no fee were stated in the visible correspondence.

The correspondence, response by response
  1. November 25, 2025 — Santina Thelen, Executive Administrative Assistant / FOIA Officer. Acknowledged receipt and explained its working-day calculation around the Thanksgiving closure.

    Official’s words — Santina Thelen, Executive Administrative Assistant / FOIA Officer, November 25, 2025“Please look for correspondence regarding this request next week.”
  2. December 2, 2025 — Santina Thelen, Executive Administrative Assistant / FOIA Officer. Said no incident record was found in the requester’s file; supplied custody-movement records and several policies/contracts; said a classification file was ready; stated medical and mental-health records were exempt and directed the requester to another custodian for a complete mental-health record.

    Official’s words — Santina Thelen, Executive Administrative Assistant / FOIA Officer, December 2, 2025“The RRJ does not record nor store any audio security files.”
    • Produced: Custody-movement records and listed policy/contract attachments; classification file described as ready
    • Withheld, or said not to exist: Medical and mental-health records; audio-security files said not to exist
  3. December 5, 2025 — Santina Thelen, Executive Administrative Assistant / FOIA Officer. Reiterated that RRJ had responded and directed the requester to the appropriate Stafford County agency.

    Official’s words — Santina Thelen, Executive Administrative Assistant / FOIA Officer, December 5, 2025“As the Jail has already responded, there is no further response required from us at this time.”

Docket note. The body of the request is truncated at 8,000 characters, so its full scope cannot be verified. Files named as attachments are listed in the corpus but their contents were not available for review. The underlying person and any medical details are intentionally not published.

Video, incident, grievance, use-of-force, and related records concerning a former detainee’s short RRJ incarceration, later narrowed to a three-month systemic-records subset

Fee-blocked

Requested byA former RRJ detainee represented by Uncage RRJ
SentDecember 7, 2025
Deadline / typeDecember 12, 2025
Va. Code § 2.2-3704(B), five working days
First responseDecember 12, 2025 — 5 days after sending
StatusFee-blocked — processing or release was conditioned on payment and the corpus does not show delivery

Code cited to withhold: § 2.2-3704(B)(4); § 2.2-3704(H); § 2.2-3705.2. Fee demanded: $20 per hour.

The correspondence, response by response
  1. December 12, 2025 — Santina Thelen, Executive Administrative Assistant / FOIA Officer. Invoked an additional seven working days because the request was described as voluminous and required a $250 deposit before processing.

    Official’s words — Santina Thelen, Executive Administrative Assistant / FOIA Officer, December 12, 2025“The FOIA request will not begin processing until the deposit is received.”
    • Code cited to withhold: § 2.2-3704(B)(4); § 2.2-3704(H)
    • Fee demanded: $250 deposit; estimated request likely to exceed $250
  2. December 19, 2025 — Santina Thelen, Executive Administrative Assistant / FOIA Officer. Said a flash drive of video in which the requester appeared would be mailed; said other video had been redacted under the public-safety exclusion; offered a cost estimate for remaining materials.

    Official’s words — Santina Thelen, Executive Administrative Assistant / FOIA Officer, December 19, 2025“Please note, it is the Jail’s general practice to exempt any and all records that are allowed to be exempted, redacted, or excluded from production by law.”
    • Code cited to withhold: § 2.2-3705.2
    • Produced: Video in which requester appears, described as to be mailed
    • Withheld, or said not to exist: Other video described as redacted; other categories not fully described in the available truncated body
  3. December 29, 2025 — Santina Thelen, Executive Administrative Assistant / FOIA Officer. Said the remaining processing would exceed $300 and described searching files for complaints, grievances, use-of-force reports, and incident reports.

    Official’s words — Santina Thelen, Executive Administrative Assistant / FOIA Officer, December 29, 2025“We anticipate the cost of processing your remaining request to exceed $300.”
    • Fee demanded: More than $300 anticipated for remaining request
  4. January 7, 2026 — Santina Thelen, Executive Administrative Assistant / FOIA Officer. Sent a requested sample of records as attachments.

    Official’s words — Santina Thelen, Executive Administrative Assistant / FOIA Officer, January 7, 2026“Attached please find a sampling of the files as requested.”
    • Produced: Four incident-report attachments and two redacted grievance-report attachments
    • Withheld, or said not to exist: not stated
  5. January 9, 2026 — Santina Thelen, Executive Administrative Assistant / FOIA Officer. Said remaining records would not be released until the final cost was determined, billed, and paid, and estimated another 30 days.

    Official’s words — Santina Thelen, Executive Administrative Assistant / FOIA Officer, January 9, 2026“Records will not be released until final cost is determined , billed, and payment received .”
    • Fee demanded: Additional cost expected to exceed $300; $20/hour rate later stated
    • Withheld, or said not to exist: Remaining requested records pending payment
  6. January 14, 2026 — Santina Thelen, Executive Administrative Assistant / FOIA Officer. Stated all FOIA requests are billed at $20 per hour and that a bill would issue before release.

    Official’s words — Santina Thelen, Executive Administrative Assistant / FOIA Officer, January 14, 2026“Once complete, a bill will be generated and sent for payment prior to the release of the records.”
    • Fee demanded: $20 per hour
    • Withheld, or said not to exist: Remaining requested records pending payment

Docket note. The original request’s detailed narrative contains personal and medical allegations about a private requester; it is summarized at a high level and the name is withheld. The original request body is truncated. The corpus verifies sample attachments and stated future production, but not that the flash drive or the remaining records were ultimately delivered.

Facsimile transmission logs, delivery confirmations, error reports, and metadata for specified RRJ fax numbers and timestamps

Unresolved

Requested byA community requester
SentJanuary 13, 2026
Deadline / typeJanuary 21, 2026
Va. Code § 2.2-3704(B), five working days
First responseJanuary 14, 2026 — 1 day after sending
StatusUnresolved — the Jail asked for something before responding and no further response appears in the corpus

Code cited to withhold: § 2.2-3700.

The correspondence, response by response
  1. January 14, 2026 — Santina Thelen, Executive Administrative Assistant / FOIA Officer. Asked the requester to provide a legal name and valid Virginia mailing address before responding.

    Official’s words — Santina Thelen, Executive Administrative Assistant / FOIA Officer, January 14, 2026“Please provide a name and valid Virginia mailing address for response.”
    • Code cited to withhold: § 2.2-3700

Docket note. The request relates to a medical-power-of-attorney matter involving a person held at RRJ. The person’s name and medical context are withheld because the corpus does not establish a public-record basis for publication. A requester disputed the signature/residency requirement, but the corpus contains no verified further RRJ response.

A request for one person’s incarceration dates in support of a district court case

Produced

Requested byUncage RRJ
SentFebruary 11, 2026
Deadline / typerecords verification request (not a FOIA request)
First responseFebruary 11, 2026 — 0 days after sending
StatusProduced — records were released and the officer stated nothing further was outstanding

No exemption and no fee were stated in the visible correspondence.

The correspondence, response by response
  1. February 11, 2026 — Rappahannock Regional Jail Authority. Provided a facility roster and stated that a subpoena would be needed for certified records delivered to the court.

    • Produced: Facility roster

Docket note. This was expressly a records-verification request, not a FOIA request. The site withholds the person’s name and case number.

Policies, agreements, communications, and aggregate data concerning RRJ immigration/ICE identification, notification, detention, and transfer practices

Partially produced

Requested byUncage RRJ
SentFebruary 17, 2026
Deadline / typeFebruary 24, 2026
Va. Code § 2.2-3704(B), five working days
First responseFebruary 24, 2026 — 7 days after sending
StatusPartially produced — some records were released and others were withheld, redacted or said not to exist

No exemption and no fee were stated in the visible correspondence.

The correspondence, response by response
  1. February 24, 2026 — Santina Thelen, Executive Administrative Assistant / FOIA Officer. Acknowledged continued processing and projected a response by February 27.

    Official’s words — Santina Thelen, Executive Administrative Assistant / FOIA Officer, February 24, 2026“We are continuing to process this request.”
  2. February 25, 2026 — Santina Thelen, Executive Administrative Assistant / FOIA Officer. Attached policies and a redacted report; said no agreements were available, certain categories were not tracked, and some transfer reports were attached with redactions.

    Official’s words — Santina Thelen, Executive Administrative Assistant / FOIA Officer, February 25, 2026“No documents to provide”
    • Produced: Policies and redacted transfer-related reports listed as attachments
    • Withheld, or said not to exist: Categories said not tracked or without documents

Docket note. The final response body is truncated at 8,000 characters. This entry reports only the categories visible in the email and attachment list; attachment contents were not reviewed. A parallel request to a county government is not docketed as an RRJ request.

Spotsylvania County notice of a FOIA cost inquiry related to RRJ matters

Notice received

Requested byUncage RRJ
SentFebruary 24, 2026
Deadline / typecounty FOIA correspondence
First responseFebruary 24, 2026 — 0 days after sending
StatusNotice received — a public body sent a notice; this docket does not characterize the underlying matter

Fee demanded: A cost inquiry notice; no amount is stated here..

The correspondence, response by response
  1. February 24, 2026 — Spotsylvania County. Sent a notice concerning a FOIA cost inquiry.

    • Fee demanded: A cost inquiry notice; no amount is stated here.

Docket note. This entry records a county notice, not an RRJ production or a finding about the underlying request.

2024 booking-log / recidivism data: booking and release times, charges, classifications, agencies, bond amounts, and inmate-identification numbers

Partially produced

Requested byUncage RRJ
SentApril 6, 2026
Deadline / typeApril 13, 2026
Va. Code § 2.2-3704(B), five working days
First responseApril 9, 2026 — 3 days after sending
StatusPartially produced — some records were released and others were withheld, redacted or said not to exist

No exemption and no fee were stated in the visible correspondence.

The correspondence, response by response
  1. April 9, 2026 — Santina Thelen, Executive Administrative Assistant / FOIA Officer. Attached a 1,855-page booking-and-charges report but said a report combining the requested fields with inmate-identification numbers could not be generated.

    Official’s words — Santina Thelen, Executive Administrative Assistant / FOIA Officer, April 9, 2026“Please note, no report can be generated to include the requested information that also includes an inmate identification number.”
    • Produced: 2024 Bookings with Charges.pdf
    • Withheld, or said not to exist: Inmate-identification numbers in combination with the other requested fields
  2. April 13, 2026 — Santina Thelen, Executive Administrative Assistant / FOIA Officer. Responded to the requester’s April 10 clarification that no additional reports existed and the identifier was not an existing field on such combined reports.

    Official’s words — Santina Thelen, Executive Administrative Assistant / FOIA Officer, April 13, 2026“After another careful review, there are no additional reports to provide.”
    • Withheld, or said not to exist: Additional combined report

Docket note. This is the April 6 request underlying the mandamus matter. The April 10 clarification is treated as part of the same request because it sought the same missing field after the April 9 production. The report attachment is listed but its contents were not available for review.

Written advisory-opinion request to the Virginia FOIA Advisory Council regarding the 2024 booking-log response

Advisory response received

Requested byUncage RRJ
SentApril 16, 2026
Deadline / typeadvisory-opinion correspondence (not a FOIA request)
First responseApril 20, 2026 — 4 days after sending
StatusAdvisory response received — an advisory body responded; the response is not a court ruling

No exemption and no fee were stated in the visible correspondence.

The correspondence, response by response
  1. April 20, 2026 — Virginia FOIA Advisory Council. Explained that FOIA does not require a public body to create a record, but noted that RRJA had contradicted the premise of nonexistence and that the factual dispute could only be resolved by a court.

    Official’s words — Virginia FOIA Advisory Council, April 20, 2026“it would appear that the record you seek does not already exist in the form you want it.”Official’s words — Virginia FOIA Advisory Council, April 20, 2026“it appears that RRJA has already contradicted that premise, thus presenting a factual dispute that could only be resolved by a court.”Official’s words — Virginia FOIA Advisory Council, April 20, 2026“There is no requirement to cite any exemption if the requested record does not exist”Official’s words — Virginia FOIA Advisory Council, April 20, 2026“only a court has the authority to rule on such factual matters.”

Docket note. The Council did not vindicate either side. Its response discusses Va. Code §§ 2.2-3704(D), (G), and (B)(3): the system need not invent a record; the factual question whether the responsive record exists is for a court.

Court-notice, service, scheduling, and applicable policy records for a person held at RRJ

Partially produced

Requested byUncage RRJ
SentJune 8, 2026
Deadline / typeJune 15, 2026
Va. Code § 2.2-3704(B), five working days
First responseJune 11, 2026 — 3 days after sending
StatusPartially produced — some records were released and others were withheld, redacted or said not to exist

Code cited to withhold: § 2.2-3706(B)(4).

The correspondence, response by response
  1. June 11, 2026 — Santina Thelen, Executive Administrative Assistant / FOIA Officer. Withheld approximately 30 records-file pages while attaching inmate-intake and inmate-records-management policies.

    Official’s words — Santina Thelen, Executive Administrative Assistant / FOIA Officer, June 11, 2026“The requested records, identified as approximately 30 pages in the Records File, have been withheld in full.”
    • Code cited to withhold: § 2.2-3706(B)(4)
    • Produced: Policies 3.3.1 and 1.7.1 listed as attachments
    • Withheld, or said not to exist: Approximately 30 records-file pages

Docket note. This is Request 4 of the June 8 multi-part submission. The individualized court matter is not named because public-record status was not independently verified.

Housing-classification, segregation-placement, risk-assessment, and applicable policy records for a person held at RRJ

Partially produced

Requested byUncage RRJ
SentJune 8, 2026
Deadline / typeJune 15, 2026
Va. Code § 2.2-3704(B), five working days
First responseJune 11, 2026 — 3 days after sending
StatusPartially produced — some records were released and others were withheld, redacted or said not to exist

Code cited to withhold: § 2.2-3706(B)(4).

The correspondence, response by response
  1. June 11, 2026 — Santina Thelen, Executive Administrative Assistant / FOIA Officer. Withheld ten classification-file pages while attaching three policies relating to classification, relocation, and special management.

    Official’s words — Santina Thelen, Executive Administrative Assistant / FOIA Officer, June 11, 2026“The requested records, identified as 10 pages in the Classification File, are being entirely withheld.”
    • Code cited to withhold: § 2.2-3706(B)(4)
    • Produced: Policies 4.1.1, 4.1.5, and 3.6.1 listed as attachments
    • Withheld, or said not to exist: Ten classification-file pages

Docket note. This is Request 3 of the June 8 multi-part submission. The underlying person’s name and individualized allegations are withheld; attachment contents were unavailable.

PREA grievance, routing, findings, and applicable investigation-policy records for a person held at RRJ

Partially produced

Requested byUncage RRJ
SentJune 8, 2026
Deadline / typeJune 15, 2026
Va. Code § 2.2-3704(B), five working days
First responseJune 11, 2026 — 3 days after sending
StatusPartially produced — some records were released and others were withheld, redacted or said not to exist

Code cited to withhold: § 2.2-3706(B)(2).

The correspondence, response by response
  1. June 11, 2026 — Santina Thelen, Executive Administrative Assistant / FOIA Officer. Withheld the PREA report/grievance form, attached a redacted criminal-investigation record for the routing log, directed the requester to the Stafford County Sheriff’s Office for sheriff records, and listed a PREA policy as attached.

    Official’s words — Santina Thelen, Executive Administrative Assistant / FOIA Officer, June 11, 2026“The RRJ is not the custodian of the requested record.”
    • Code cited to withhold: § 2.2-3706(B)(2)
    • Produced: Redacted 2026 criminal-investigation record and PREA policy listed as attachments
    • Withheld, or said not to exist: PREA report or grievance form; sheriff-office records referred elsewhere

Docket note. This is Request 5 of the June 8 multi-part submission. The title uses the statutory acronym only and omits personalized allegations. The response body is truncated after the visible referral/policy text, so no further outcome is inferred.

Use-of-force, restraint/search, injury, staff-identification, internal-communication, and applicable policy records for a person held at RRJ

Partially produced

Requested byUncage RRJ
SentJune 8, 2026
Deadline / typeJune 15, 2026
Va. Code § 2.2-3704(B), five working days
First responseJune 11, 2026 — 3 days after sending
StatusPartially produced — some records were released and others were withheld, redacted or said not to exist

Code cited to withhold: § 2.2-3706(B)(4).

The correspondence, response by response
  1. June 11, 2026 — Santina Thelen, Executive Administrative Assistant / FOIA Officer. Withheld two classification-file pages described as use-of-force records, while attaching four related policies.

    Official’s words — Santina Thelen, Executive Administrative Assistant / FOIA Officer, June 11, 2026“The requested records, identified as two pages in the Classification file, are being entirely withheld.”
    • Code cited to withhold: § 2.2-3706(B)(4)
    • Produced: Policies 3.1.19, 3.1.29, 3.3.3, and 3.1.11 listed as attachments
    • Withheld, or said not to exist: Two classification-file pages

Docket note. This is Request 2 of the June 8 multi-part submission. The underlying incarcerated person’s name and alleged incident details are withheld as a privacy judgment; policy attachment contents were not available.

Warrant, service-timeline, and RRJ-awareness records for a person held at RRJ

Partially produced

Requested byUncage RRJ
SentJune 8, 2026
Deadline / typeJune 15, 2026
Va. Code § 2.2-3704(B), five working days
First responseJune 11, 2026 — 3 days after sending
StatusPartially produced — some records were released and others were withheld, redacted or said not to exist

Code cited to withhold: § 2.2-3706(B)(4).

The correspondence, response by response
  1. June 11, 2026 — Santina Thelen, Executive Administrative Assistant / FOIA Officer. Released a redacted facility-admission report; withheld approximately 30 jail-record pages; said requested internal-awareness communications and pre-surrender awareness records did not exist.

    Official’s words — Santina Thelen, Executive Administrative Assistant / FOIA Officer, June 11, 2026“The requested records are being provided in part and are being withheld in part.”
    • Code cited to withhold: § 2.2-3706(B)(4)
    • Produced: Redacted facility-admission report
    • Withheld, or said not to exist: Approximately 30 jail-record pages; specified internal communications said not to exist

Docket note. This is Request 1 of a submission that expressly required each numbered item to be treated as a discrete request. The named incarcerated person is not identified in the title, and source-email labels mask the name and inmate identifier. Human review: the corpus shows advocacy on the person’s behalf but does not independently establish public-record status.

Inmate notary-services procedures and records

Produced

Requested byA community requester associated with Uncage RRJ
SentJune 11, 2026
Deadline / typeJune 18, 2026
Va. Code § 2.2-3704(B), five working days
First responseJune 12, 2026 — 1 day after sending
StatusProduced — records were released and the officer stated nothing further was outstanding

No exemption and no fee were stated in the visible correspondence.

The correspondence, response by response
  1. June 12, 2026 — Santina Thelen, Executive Administrative Assistant / FOIA Officer. Attached pages from the Inmate Handbook addressing notary services and stated that all available records had been sent.

    Official’s words — Santina Thelen, Executive Administrative Assistant / FOIA Officer, June 12, 2026“At this time there are no additional records relative to your request and all available records have been sent.”
    • Produced: Inmate Handbook Notary Services attachment
    • Withheld, or said not to exist: None stated

Docket note. The correspondence arose from a request for assistance completing a power-of-attorney document. Individual names and legal-document details are omitted. Human review: source-email labels mask an incarcerated person’s name and inmate identifier.

Sentencing order held by RRJ for a specified circuit-court case involving a person held at RRJ

Withheld

Requested byA community requester associated with Uncage RRJ
SentJune 11, 2026
Deadline / typeJune 18, 2026
Va. Code § 2.2-3704(B), five working days
First responseJune 12, 2026 — 1 day after sending
StatusWithheld — the records were refused in full

Code cited to withhold: § 2.2-3706(B)(4).

The correspondence, response by response
  1. June 12, 2026 — Santina Thelen, Executive Administrative Assistant / FOIA Officer. Initially said no responsive sentencing paperwork existed for a different case-number format.

    Official’s words — Santina Thelen, Executive Administrative Assistant / FOIA Officer, June 12, 2026“The requested records do not exist.”
    • Withheld, or said not to exist: Sentencing paperwork said not to exist
  2. June 17, 2026 — Santina Thelen, Executive Administrative Assistant / FOIA Officer. Said no sentencing records were responsive for one case and directed previous-charge records to the circuit court; repeated that approximately 30 jail-record pages were withheld.

    Official’s words — Santina Thelen, Executive Administrative Assistant / FOIA Officer, June 17, 2026“We have no sentencing records responsive to this request.”
    • Code cited to withhold: § 2.2-3706(B)(4)
    • Withheld, or said not to exist: Approximately 30 jail-record pages
  3. June 18, 2026 — Santina Thelen, Executive Administrative Assistant / FOIA Officer. Clarified that the requested conviction-and-sentencing order was within the previously identified 30 pages and remained withheld; directed the requester to the circuit court clerk.

    Official’s words — Santina Thelen, Executive Administrative Assistant / FOIA Officer, June 18, 2026“These records continue to be withheld in full, citing exemption § 2.2-3706 B. 4.”
    • Code cited to withhold: § 2.2-3706(B)(4)
    • Withheld, or said not to exist: Conviction-and-sentencing order held within approximately 30 jail-record pages

Docket note. The June 12 response cited a case-number variant; later correspondence identifies a conviction-and-sentencing order in the withheld jail file. The person’s name and case number are omitted from narrative fields. Human review: source-email labels mask the personal name and inmate identifier, and the corpus suggests a court-record context but does not independently establish the record’s public status.

July 23, 2026 RRJA Board-meeting change, notice, agenda-packet, and meeting-material records

Produced

Requested byUncage RRJ
SentJuly 14, 2026
Deadline / typeJuly 21, 2026
Va. Code § 2.2-3704(B), five working days
First responseJuly 17, 2026 — 3 days after sending
StatusProduced — records were released and the officer stated nothing further was outstanding

No exemption and no fee were stated in the visible correspondence.

The correspondence, response by response
  1. July 17, 2026 — Santina Thelen, Executive Administrative Assistant / FOIA Officer. Said no records existed concerning changes to the meeting time/location; supplied two website-update emails, the agenda packet, two notice-related emails, and January 22 minutes.

    Official’s words — Santina Thelen, Executive Administrative Assistant / FOIA Officer, July 17, 2026“These records do not exist because they were never created by the Rappahannock Regional Jail.”
    • Produced: Agenda packet, two website-update emails, two notice-related emails, and January 22 meeting minutes
    • Withheld, or said not to exist: No records about an actual/proposed change to time or location

Docket note. Date anomaly for human review: the official response’s header is July 17 and quotes the request as sent July 14, but its prose says the office received the request on July 21. The docket uses the message headers for date sent and response date, and computes the deadline from the July 14 sent date. Attachment contents were not reviewed.

Names of employee-award recipients at the July 23, 2026 RRJA Board meeting

No response

Requested byUncage RRJ
SentAugust 10, 2026
Deadline / typeAugust 17, 2026
Va. Code § 2.2-3704(B), five working days
First responseNone in this corpus
StatusNo response — no response to the request appears in the corpus

No exemption and no fee were stated in the visible correspondence.

The correspondence, response by response

No response from the Jail to this request appears in the 173-message corpus. The statutory deadline above passed without a reply on this record.

Docket note. No RRJ response to this request appears in the 173-message corpus. No recipient names are published because no records were produced.

Now published, and no longer a request

The nine deaths do not need a FOIA request. The Commonwealth printed them.

9

deaths reported at Rappahannock Regional Jail across CY2022, CY2023 and CY2024 — three, four and two — in the Virginia Board of Local and Regional Jails’ annual report of jail death reviews. Statewide the same table reports 68, 51 and 48, for 167 across the three years.

↓ Download the state report — PDF, 10 pages

The nine is tied with Southwest Virginia Regional Jail Authority – Abingdon and Western Virginia Regional Jail for the second-highest three-year total of any facility in the Commonwealth, behind only Riverside Regional Jail’s twelve. Fairfax County Adult Detention Center, in a far larger jurisdiction, reported eight.

Statewide manner of death in CY2023: 17 natural, 18 suicide, 13 accident or overdose, 2 homicide. The state table is facility counts and statewide manners only. It says nothing about any individual death at this jail, and neither do we.

Deaths reported by facility; statewide totals and manner of death · Period: CY2022–CY2024 · Source: Virginia Board of Local and Regional Jails, Calendar Year 2024 Annual Report of Jail Death Reviews, July 1, 2025, Deaths by Facility table, pp. 6–8, Rappahannock Regional Jail row p. 7; Manner of Death table, p. 8, a published record of the Commonwealth of Virginia (download the PDF). Retrieved August 22, 2026.

Separate 2026 press reporting

At least two more deaths in 2026 have been reported in the press.

Separate from the Commonwealth’s count above: a press record, not a state count or a finding about responsibility.

Reported May 2026

Lawrence Dale Toler II, 39

Press reporting says he was found unresponsive at RRJ on May 25, 2026, was revived and taken to Stafford Hospital, was pronounced brain dead the next day, and died May 26 at Mary Washington Hospital. The reporting says drugs were found in his cell; the Sheriff’s Office said it was investigating how they arrived and a detective described possible felonies by prisoners. No suspect was identified.

The same reporting records a family account of months of untreated injury. That account and the official drugs investigation are different claims; this site does not adjudicate either. Toler had been held at RRJ after a November 2, 2024 deputy shooting and, according to press reporting, was convicted in April 2026 of seven felonies including attempted murder of an officer.

Press-reported death and surrounding claims · Period: May 2026 · Sources: Fredericksburg Advance; Patch; WTOP. Retrieved August 22, 2026.

Reported July 2026

Christopher Lee Franklin, 40

Press reporting identifies Franklin as a Stafford man and Marine veteran who died by suicide at RRJ on July 26, 2026. It says he had been in custody since January 17, one week before his next scheduled hearing, and that officials did not release details.

His family told the press that depression, PTSD, and anxiety were documented; that suicide watch was later removed despite suicidal thoughts; and that a 20-minute check was missed for more than an hour. Those are family allegations reported by the press, not findings by this site.

Press-reported death and family allegations · Period: July 2026 · Source: Augusta Free Press; Augusta Free Press follow-up. Retrieved August 22, 2026.

Escalation ledger

One field, refused twice, with no Code section cited

On April 6, 2026 we asked for seven fields from the 2024 booking log — ID number, booking and release date and time, charges, classification, arresting agency, bond at booking. No names, no dates of birth. Structured format requested.

On April 9, 2026 the Authority produced a 1,855-page PDF and withheld the ID number with one sentence: “Please note, no report can be generated to include the requested information that also includes an inmate identification number.” No exemption cited.

On April 10, 2026 we replied that exporting an existing field is not creating a record — § 2.2-3704(G) says so — and demanded the Code section for any withholding under § 2.2-3704(B)(2).

On April 13, 2026: “After another careful review, there are no additional reports to provide.” Still no Code section.

The full entry, with both responses dated and attributed, is on the docket above.

Status

Filed April 30, 2026 · CL2600001758-00

Filed in Stafford County Circuit Court: a Motion for Leave to File Amended Petition and an Amended Petition for Writ of Mandamus, Exhibits A–E, seeking a determination on the inmate-number request. Santina Thelen is named individually only on the civil-penalty claim under Va. Code § 2.2-3714(A).

Served the same day on the FOIA officer and superintendent under § 2.2-3713(C), which calls for a hearing within seven days. We report the filed status and case number, not the pleadings.

Escalation ladder, in order: written notice when the five-working-day deadline passes; demand for the Code section under § 2.2-3704(B)(2); § 2.2-3704(G) where they claim a new record would have to be created; itemized basis and a public-interest fee waiver under § 2.2-3704(F); a formal advisory opinion from the Virginia FOIA Advisory Council under § 30-179; then § 2.2-3713 in Circuit Court, which carries a seven-day docketing preference.

Deputize, don't perform

File your own in fifteen minutes

  1. Name the record, not the question. “Why is commissary so expensive” is not a record. “The commissary contract in effect on August 1, 2026, including the commission terms” is.
  2. Say the magic words. “Pursuant to the Virginia Freedom of Information Act, Va. Code § 2.2-3700 et seq., I request copies of the following public records…”
  3. Number every item and say they are separate. The five-part June 2026 submission got five separate answers because it asked for them. That is how a partial refusal stays visible.
  4. Ask for the format. Native or machine-readable, or PDF only where nothing else exists. Cite § 2.2-3704(G) if they tell you a database export would be a new record.
  5. Cap the money before it caps you. “If charges will exceed $50, provide a written estimate before proceeding, per § 2.2-3704(F).” On this docket a deposit demand stopped a request cold for weeks; ask for a public-interest waiver in the first email, not the fifth.
  6. Demand citations for anything withheld. § 2.2-3704(B)(2) requires the subject matter withheld to be identified with reasonable particularity and the specific Code section named. If they cite § 2.2-3706, remind them it is discretionary and ask why they are exercising it this way.
  7. Be a Virginia resident, in writing, with a mailing address. Two requests on this docket were closed or paused on the residency and address requirement in § 2.2-3700 before anyone looked for a record.
  8. State the deadline yourself. Five working days from receipt. Count them and write the date in the email.
Copy this

Dear FOIA Officer,

Pursuant to the Virginia Freedom of Information Act, Va. Code § 2.2-3700 et seq., I request copies of the following public records held by the Rappahannock Regional Jail Authority: [describe each record, one numbered item at a time, with dates. Please treat each numbered item as a separate request.]

I am a resident of Virginia. My mailing address is [address].

I request electronic delivery in native or machine-readable format, or PDF where no other format exists. If any portion is withheld, please identify the withheld subject matter with reasonable particularity and cite the specific Code section authorizing each withholding, per § 2.2-3704(B)(2). If you anticipate charges exceeding $50, please provide a written cost estimate before proceeding, per § 2.2-3704(F).

Response is required within five working days of receipt, no later than [date].

Respectfully, [your name]

Send it to the Jail's FOIA officer (address on Act). Copy yourself. Then tell us — refusals across many requesters are their own record.

What the Jail produced

Six documents the Jail handed over, read closely

The records that came back. Every quotation is transcribed from the Jail’s production, spelling and emphasis as written. Nothing here identifies an incarcerated person.

1. The immigration policy, in two revisions

The Jail produced its intake policy for undocumented immigrants twice over — once as Revision #1, dated December 19, 2024, and once as Revision #2, dated January 17, 2025. The two are word-for-word identical except in one clause. Revision #1 holds a person for federal immigration authorities “for a period not to exceed forty eight (48) hours, not to include holidays or weekends.” Revision #2 deletes those last five words, leaving a flat forty-eight-hour ceiling. One month apart, the hold got shorter.

At intake an officer must ask whether the person was born outside the United States and whether they are a citizen of another country. If so, a supervisor makes an immigration alien query to federal immigration enforcement’s Law Enforcement Support Center through the national crime database, and records the result twice in Virginia’s Local Inmate Data System — once when the query goes out, once when the answer comes back. The policy cites Va. Code § 19.2-83.2 and § 53.1-218 as its authority.

Source: RRJ Policy 3.3.5, “Inmate Intake — Undocumented Immigrants,” Revisions #1 and #2, produced by the Jail in response to a February 17, 2026 records request. Read in full from the production.

2. No 287(g) agreement — and a claim of compliance

Asked in July 2025 whether the Jail held any written agreement authorizing detention solely for immigration enforcement past the forty-eight-hour detainer window, the FOIA officer answered in one line:

“Rappahannock Regional Jail currently has no 287(g) MOA agreement.”

Santina Thelen, July 18, 2025. The request came from the partner of a man who remained in custody on an immigration hold after his criminal charges were dismissed two days earlier. Neither is named here.

Seven months later the City of Fredericksburg asked the Jail to confirm its immigration practices complied with the new Governor’s order. The Superintendent wrote back:

“Our policy and activities are compliant with applicable Virginia law (which is cited in our policy) and with Governor Spanberger’s Executive Order # 10.”

Colonel Kevin A. Hudson, February 17, 2026, to the Fredericksburg Interim Police Chief, at the City Manager’s request. From the same production.

True, and close to weightless. Executive Order 10, January 17, 2026, rescinded a predecessor’s order — it lifted a mandate to cooperate rather than imposing a limit (Governor of Virginia). Executive Directive 1, February 4, 2026, ordered four state agencies to end their 287(g) agreements and reaches only those agencies, not regional jails (Governor of Virginia, Bolts). A regional jail complies with EO 10 by doing nothing. The binding change came in April 2026, when the General Assembly restricted local agreements with immigration authorities — amended before signature so that jails may still honor detainers (Bolts).

3. The immigration holds, counted

Also produced: “Charges By County Of Charge By Date — ICE,” printed February 19, 2026 — thirty pages of 2025 bookings charged by federal immigration enforcement, with book date, release date and charge, names blacked out at source. The holds are days, not weeks; the charge is most often a federal misdemeanor.

Our reading of the 2024 booking log puts a number on the practice: 242 bookings carried an immigration hold, median stay about 54 hours — a forty-eight-hour policy in the aggregate. The booking log is here.

4. Electronic monitoring: the criteria, and the refusal to explain them

Thirteen published eligibility requirements for the Electronic Monitoring Program, among them: no pending charges, no violent felony ever, no drug-distribution conviction in ten years, a sentence of twenty days to twelve months, residence in a funding locality, and “Must be legally allowed to be employed in the United States.”

Printed at the bottom of the criteria sheet itself:

“*Jail policy prohibits staff to discuss ineligibility reasons*”

And in the form letter sent to people who are turned down:

“It is the policy of the Jail not to discuss the reasons for ineligibility. Any requests regarding this matter will be returned unanswered.”

Published criteria, a form rejection, and a written policy against telling you which criterion you failed. Asked separately how many people the program has served, the FOIA officer answered: “This is not a statistic that is tracked. All EMP participants must be court ordered/referred.”

Source: RRJ Electronic Monitoring Program eligibility requirements and form denial letter, produced by the Jail; and Santina Thelen’s response letter of January 31, 2025. Read in full from the productions.

5. Two contracts, and who owns the data

The Jail does not competitively bid its own electronic-monitoring contract. It buys off another county’s, a cooperative purchasing agreement with Track Group, Inc. running July 1, 2022 to June 30, 2024 with four one-year renewal options, after which it reverts to month-to-month until formally renewed. One clause deserves to be read twice:

“Customer shall be the owner of any and all GPS tracking data generated and recorded pursuant to the terms of this Agreement. Customer grants Provider a perpetual and unlimited license to use any such GPS tracking data”

The jail owns every monitored person’s location history and licenses it to the vendor, perpetually and without limit. The ankle device samples location every two seconds, carries voice, tightens to thirty-second tracking on violation, and pairs with a check-in app with biometric ID and video, installed on “the offender’s personal, or Agency provided phone.” Victim notification: $2.00 per app user per day; analytics $1.25 down to $0.50 per device per day.

The second contract is older and simpler. In December 2015 the Authority signed Contract #2015-SCS with Esitech Security Group for the jail’s security control system: $976,430.00 over two years, followed by a five-year maintenance agreement at $59,200 a year, $296,000.00 in total.

Sources: RRJ’s Track Group agreement under Loudoun County Contract #RFQ 475785, and RRJA Contract #2015-SCS, both produced by the Jail. Pricing tables were transcribed from a scanned copy; figures cited here are the ones legible without ambiguity.

6. A grievance about a weapon, returned unanswered

On June 11, 2025 a man filed an electronic grievance from a housing-unit tablet. Its summary field read “Threat.” He wrote that his cellmate had made a weapon, was threatening him with it, and that when he tried to report it privately to an officer he was cut off and disciplined for the late shower he had taken in order to speak alone. He asked to be moved. His own words are his and are not reproduced here.

Twelve days later, at 9:03 in the morning, the grievance was printed, answered and closed in a single timestamped action:

“Improperly Filed; As you failed to provide electronic request form numbers and/or a hard copy inmate request form number with your grievance to show that you attempted to resolve this issue at the lowest level prior to submitting a grievance.”

“Returned; This matter was turned over to appropriate Secuirty Staff for investigation. No further action by the Ombudsman.”

Same entry, same minute: serious enough to refer to security, defective enough to return unanswered. The Jail’s returned-grievance form lists fourteen such reasons, among them that the Superintendent’s appeal decisions “are final and not grievable issues.”

Set that beside the Authority’s own reporting to its Board: 1,915 grievances filed and 1,206 not investigated — 63.0 percent — in the fiscal year. The grievance numbers are here.

Source: the redacted electronic grievance record produced by the Jail, and the Jail’s Returned Grievance Form OPER-0019. Quotations are the Jail’s response text only; the misspelling of “Security” is in the original. Booking numbers, housing assignments, device identifiers and the writer’s narrative are withheld.

What this docket cannot tell you

The limits of the file, stated before you ask

  • Email bodies were truncated at 8,000 characters in the archive this docket was built from. Where a request or a response ran longer, we describe only what is visible and infer no outcome beyond it.
  • Most attachments have been read; a few have not. Forty-two documents came back. Those quoted in what the Jail produced were read line by line; where a description is the official's own words rather than ours, it says so. One spreadsheet will not read cleanly and is not quoted.
  • “No response” means no response appears in this corpus — not that none exists somewhere else. If a reply was sent to a different address, or by post, it is not here and we would want to know.
  • Statutory deadlines here are arithmetic. Five working days from the date sent, excluding weekends and any observed state holiday in the window. A date passing is not a legal finding of non-compliance, and the corpus does not always establish the date of receipt.
  • Names are withheld on purpose. Signing officials are named. Nobody else, ever.

If you are on this docket as a role and want your request published under your name, write to us. If you want something removed, say so and it comes down.

Sent this Jail a records request that is not here? Tell us. Eighteen requests is a file. Eighty from a county is a record.

↓ Download the full docket — Markdown, 21 threads with per-entry source notes

Built from 173 emails in the Uncage RRJ Proton archive of correspondence with the Jail's FOIA officer, January 28, 2025 to August 10, 2026. Reviewed August 22, 2026. Corrections to uncagerrj@protonmail.com are published, dated, with the original left visible.